Sylva J15 Build

For general chat, questions etc about cars designed by JP - the main forum
kdempsie
Name: Keith Dempsie

Sylva J15 Build

Postby kdempsie » Mon Mar 17, 2014 12:07 am

Hello out there,

I have been meaning to post some details of my build for a while. I have always enjoyed reading other people's build blogs and found them really useful over the years. Special mention to Neil Everett's excellent build blog on his Sylva Mojo http://www.mymojo.co.uk which i found really useful when building my first kit car a Sylva Mojo 2.

A little about me and how I got here. I am a Mechanical Engineer and work in the oil and gas industry based in Aberdeen. Probably like many of us I have been interested in cars and wanted to build a kit car for a long time. Finally when I had a garage and finances allowed I built a Sylva Mojo 2, I sold it after 8 years of ownership about 18 months ago, it just appeared recently on Ebay so might be on its way to a new owner by now.
IMG_0158.jpg

I thoroughly enjoyed building and driving the car and learned a lot from the experience, so perhaps naturally wanted to do it again. I didn't look at too many cars having seen the J15 in the buck development stage and really liked the way it looked. I did consider a Raw Phoenix and a Westfield Mega S2000. In some ways I might have been better going for the Phoenix as I like the shape and the front engine rear drive layout might have been a nice change to the Mojo. I fancied the Westfield because it looked good at Stoneleigh, I suspected I could built it really fast and its performance would have been great. Any way my decision was pretty much made and I had chosen the J15 when I next had the time and money etc.

For my 40th birthday party my girlfriend Lorna gave me this cake, perhaps I have been talking about it too much? So with that motivation I went ahead and ordered the car on the actual day of my birthday.
IMG_0916.jpg