J15 Hayabusa standard wb - finished!

Start here if you are new to the forum, and just want to say Hello
padj15
Name: paul delderfield

J15 Hayabusa standard wb - finished!

Postby padj15 » Mon Sep 02, 2019 11:22 am

Hi everyone

i've been building this J15 for nearly 4 years and finally was able to drive it on the road for the first time yesterday, very pleased!

i think i's the only bike engined J15 on a standard wheelbase, there's at least one other Hayabusa car (in the states) and a Fireblade engined car but they're both on longer wheelbases and stretched bodies. This is (i think) a one off chassis built by Jeremy in 2010 with a longer rear behind the rear suspension pick ups to allow the diff to be pushed back to give room for the engine. hopefully the pictures make it clearer:

sorry i haven't posted much before but all my focus has been on finishing the car. happy to try to fill in any more info and pictures if anyone's interested.

thanks for looking

Paul D

pigeondave
Name: David Malenczak

Re: J15 Hayabusa standard wb - finished!

Postby pigeondave » Tue Sep 03, 2019 1:23 pm

Love the colour, looks really good.

adithorp
Name: adrian thorp

Postby adithorp » Tue Sep 03, 2019 3:49 pm

Very nice looking motor.

I'm surprised there aren't more BEC J15s as there are a fairly high proportion of bike engines in Riots. Don't see many BECs that have twin exhausts either.

Edd

Postby Edd » Tue Sep 03, 2019 7:58 pm

THat looks a nice car
Edd

jeffw
Name: Jeff Wiltshire

Postby jeffw » Wed Sep 04, 2019 4:02 pm

Nice, there was a lengthened J15 which raced in RGB. The Riot was a little too short wheelbase I think.

padj15

Postby padj15 » Wed Sep 11, 2019 6:25 pm

now with headlamp covers fitted:

davspeed
Name: david van gils

Postby davspeed » Thu Sep 12, 2019 8:45 am

Very nice indeed, I look forward to seeing it some time.

adithorp

Postby adithorp » Thu Sep 12, 2019 3:24 pm

Looks great. How are you finding driving it? Have you had a BEC before?

padj15